Understanding God’s Love

Ruth during her High School graduation

I graduated from high school Thursday night, and I can look back and see what I have accomplished, how far I have come . . .

I arrived at La Casa on June 4, 2002 one month after La Casa began.  I did not know that God even existed and rejected Him because my mother had rejected Him. After I had been at La Casa for a while, I began to meet missionaries who spoke another language that I didn’t understand. I wondered why they would leave their homes and come so far to help us.  I began to see that God was real, but I questioned why He let my father die when I was five years old.  I felt a real fight going on in my mind and heart.

Ruth a few years ago

Ruth with one of the missionaries

As I watched teams continue come back year after year, I felt loved and important.  I realized that they were motivated by a love that could only come from God. As time went on, God answered my questions.  He has shown me that His plans are special for each one of us and that He brings blessing for each even through the pain.  I also discovered that I had to forgive my mother for the things that I resented in my heart.  I have been given grace to do just that, and today I can finally say that I am free of unforgiveness and know that God loves me.

Ruth and Eugenia on High School graduation day!

When I came to La Casa, I was very excited to have the opportunity to go to school. I wanted to learn English to thank the people who came on mission teams one day in their language. I was thankful that had the opportunity to learn English at my school and then study at an advanced level on Saturdays.  I now love the English language and plan to study it in college too.  My education has also helped me realized that I have lots of gifts, including singing, painting, and writing poems.

I will be moving into the Transition home soon.  I must say that I was initially scared of this move, but I now realize that this will allow me to continue my studies while becoming independent. I am thankful for donors whose hearts have been touched to help with this project. I want to honor God and take advantage to all the opportunities I am given.  Most of all, I am thankful to God because his mercy has reached me.

By Ruth Iraheta Young Adult from La Casa de mi Padre
Edited by Esther Knight and Sharon Powell
 
*******************************************************************************************

Entendí el Amor de Dios

Ruth en su graduación. Se llevo el segundo lugar de su clase.

Me gradué de bachillerato la noche del jueves, puedo ver atrás y darme cuenta de todo lo que he logrado y lo lejos que he llegado.

Llegué un mes después de que La Casa inició, el 4 de junio del 2002, en ese tiempo no tenía idea de la existencia de Dios y lo rechacé porque mi mamá lo rechazó antes. Después de haber estado por un tiempo en La Casa, comenzaron a venir misioneros que hablaban otro idioma que yo no entendía,  me pregunté ¿Por qué ellos dejan sus casas y vienen de tan lejos a ayudarnos? Comencé a darme cuenta de que Dios era real, pero también me preguntaba ¿Por qué Él permitió que mi papá falleciera cuando yo tenía 5 años? Entonces, sentí una verdadera lucha en mi mente y en mi corazón.

Ruth en sus quince años celebrados en La Casa de mi Padre

Mientras yo observaba a los grupos misioneros venir año tras año, me sentí amada e importante, me dí cuenta que ellos eran motivados por el amor que sólo puede venir de Dios. Con el pasar del tiempo, Dios contestó mis preguntas, Él me mostró que sus planes son especiales para cada uno de nosotros y que Él traerá bendición a pesar del dolor que hayamos que tenido que vivir. También me dí cuenta que debía perdonar a mi mamá por las cosas que resentía en mi corazón, ahora finalmente puedo decir que soy libre de todo resentimiento y sé que Dios me ama.

Ruth junto a sus familiares

Ruth junto a Milagrito (Madre de Hogar, Fundación La Casa de mi Padre).

Cuando vine a La Casa, estuve muy emocionada por tener la oportunidad de estudiar, yo quería aprender inglés para agradecer con mis palabras a todas las personas que vinieron a visitarnos en grupos misioneros. Estoy agradecida por la oportunidad que tuve de aprender inglés en mi colegio y de poder estudiar niveles avanzados los días sábados. Ahora me encanta el idioma inglés y planeo estudiarlo en la Universidad. A través de mis estudios me he dado cuenta de todos los dones y talentos que tengo como cantar, pintar y escribir poemas.

Muy pronto me iré a vivir a La Casa de Transición. Tengo que admitir que al principio me daba miedo este cambio, pero ahora me doy cuenta que me permitirá continuar con mis estudios mientras aprendo a ser independiente. Estoy agradecida con los donantes que han sentido en su corazón apoyarnos en este proyecto, también quiero honrar a Dios y aprovechar la oportunidad que me ha sido dada. Agradezco a  Dios porque su misericordia me ha alcanzado.

Por Ruth Iraheta, Joven de La Casa de mi Padre
Editado por Diana de Rodríguez

3 thoughts on “Understanding God’s Love

  1. God bless you Ruth – you will love living in the home with Monica and Israel! They are wonderful people who God has chosen to help you! I am excited for you and will be praying for you!

  2. Ruth, I’m so proud of you for all of your accomplishments but especially moved by your forgiveness & so glad that you understand how much you are loved!

    In His Love,
    ~jan

    • Thank you Jan , I justo read it today, I’m no longer at la casa but still studying , I am on my 4th year at university , thanks for all 🙂 God bless you.
      Ruth

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.